TOMATO CURRY WITH PAV

Do you know how to make tomato curry?my husband had asked me when we first met.I said ya—aa—very confidently. You see I was trying to impress him.I had never ever heard of this dish and kept wondering whether he was trying to gauge my culinary skills .

image498.jpg

The name of the recipe is very misleading.You must be imagining that it has chunks of tomato with some gravy. Even I had the same impression, until I saw it being made in my sis in law’s house.I don’t know the origin of the recipe but all I know is, it has been fondly made in my in laws place for ages.

INGREDIENTS:-

5 medium size tomatoes

1 cup steamed mixed vegetables(beans ,cauliflower. peas, carrots, baby corn etc)

1 tsp oil

salt and sugar to taste

Masala to be ground into a powder

2 red chillis(increase or decrease the quantity according to your taste)

1 tsp corriander seeds

2 cloves

1/2” cinnamon pieces

1 green cardamom

1/2 tsp moti saunf

Method:-Boil the tomatoes in 2 cups of water in a pressure cooker. Let it cool, then blend and strain it in a soup strainer. Add water to correct the consistency. The soup should neither be thick nor too watery.

Mix the steamed vegetables with the soup.

image497.jpg

Using the 1 tsp oil slightly roast all the masala ingredients till you get a nice aroma of spices. Cool and grind to a fine powder.Add this masala powder to the above soup mixture.

image496.jpg

Add salt and sugar to taste.It should taste sweet n sour.

Boil the entire curry for 3-4 minutes. Serve hot with warm pav or bread with offcourse butter .

The curry can be made as fiery or mild by increasing or decreasing the red chilli content .Works well in winters, is a meal in itself.Enjoy!!!!

8 comments

  1. My Sis in law also makes this a lot!!!! I think the only diff is she fries a bit of besan first and then adds the veggies and the soup.

    Nice recipe there. πŸ™‚

    Hi coffee, that’s a nice idea to add a little fried besan . Next time I will surely try this. Plus it must be thickening the curry too. Thanx.

  2. Hi Archana, this sounds unusual, the method of making. can you post a picture? welcome to the world of food blogging

    Hi Sra, It is nothing but tomato soup with steamed vegetables. The select spices give it the distinct flavour ,which makes it different from normal tomato soup.The consistency should be like that of a soup.
    I don’t have a digital camera, but the moment I get one ,promise I will post the photographs.Thanx for visiting my blog.

  3. Archana, This is a new recipe. Thanks for sharing.

    You have been tagged!

    Hi Hema , The recipe is nothing but tomato soup and vegetables.But the spices are different. We normally put black pepper, here it is ‘masaledar’, Indian version of soup.I think the vegetables were added to make it more filling!!!:)

    Thanx for tagging me . I will write my meme shortly:)

  4. hey archana… waiting for ur next post… why dont u click some snaps also so taht we get visual treat also:)

    I have been very slow na πŸ™‚ Last few days I have been enjoying surfing the food blogs literally the whole day hee ee!! and I forgot about my own blog :))
    I always thought a certain mega pixel camera is required to click photos. Then http://www.route79.org
    Jag cleared all my doubts about pixel.Iwill be uploading photos soon:)

  5. good luck archana:) even in the begining for 1st week i was just busy with blog hopping. then thought its a gr8 way to keep a record of what we cook as i am very bad at remembering the ingredients. never i dreamt i will meet so many ppl here in internet who will appreciate what we cook and become frenz:) will be looking forward to ur upcoming recipes:) have fun dear…

    Hi Sia ,My next recipe will be coming up shortly!!!!;)

Leave a Reply

