CHAT (Pani puri)(Dahi batata sev puri)

Chat is liked by many. But I know ladies who do not like chat!!!! It really surprised me. There are some who do not like chocolates, even mangoes !!!Oh I am going out of topic πŸ™‚

I love to eat chat,and if I get a weekly dose of chat I am the happiest person . But generally that does not happen and I have to console myself by dreaming of it 😦

So I thought of giving a post on it so that I get to eat it too πŸ™‚

The place where I am staying , people here throng chat walas stalls. But I wonder how many of them make Golgappas (panipuri) at home, because we don’t get packets of puris in shops.The packets we get are branded ones. The best quality comes for Rs 75/ 30 puris. Imagine spending so much . So I resort to making them at home.If I buy loose it is Rs 2/ per puri!!!!!

So the recipe for Puri is here Recipe for Red chutney is here

Recipe for Green chutney is here/ Recipe for Sweet chutney is here / Recipe for Pani is here.

image406.jpg
image411.jpg

Ingredients for Dahi Batata Sev Puri/Dahi Batase

Some salted bundi, soaked in warm water for a few seconds and water drained off.

2 potato boiled and cut small

Boiled kabuli chana/ chole/

Sweetened thick curds

Fine sev

Dhania powder/ jeera powder/ kala namak/ chat masala /red chilli powder/ moti saunf (aniseed ) powder.

Assemble-Put the chana , potatoes, boondi in the puffed puri .Add spices on it . Put green and sweet chutney on it. Sprinkle spices again on top and coriander leaves.

I know , I know every one knows how to make chat, but the reason behind posting this recipe was that,I was dreaming of chat for quite some time and wanted to eat it !!!!!!!!! :)))))))

It was soo ..oooo tasty πŸ™‚ Is your mouth watering? πŸ™‚

Those puris which did not puff up make –

Sev puri-Just put few potato cubes and onion finely cut on flat puri. Sprinkle masalas, add green /sweet/ and red chutney. Sprinkle sev, and coriander leaves.

ENJOY!!!!! πŸ™‚

15 comments

  1. hey archana, as you know by now, i do love chaat! out here we get a pack of puris for @ $2.99, but i guess it’s worth all the trouble one has to go thru to make it, i mean i know for sure that i don’t hv the stamina to make all those small puris haha!
    enjoy!!

    Actually I compare prices by Indian standards and I feel this place is too costly πŸ™‚
    Infact even I feel that making puri is lot of hassle πŸ™‚

  2. I love chaat…..! one of the best foods to eat while watching a movie…what do you say?

    Yes Trupti all thanks to those who invented these recipes.It is the most enjoyable dish, and like you said while watching TV it is the best πŸ™‚

  3. this is our favourate chaat too,i always keep stock because you never know when you will crave, i buy ready made green chutney and for sweet chutney i keep maggi’s tamrina sauce thats all.

    If I buy and keep that packet, it will finish on the same day, I will not wait for cravings haa haa:)))))) Such is my craziness for chaat Vanita πŸ™‚ By the way I will also buy that tamarina Sauce , good idea.

  4. May be those ladies are “dieting”!!;D Their loss really but I love it though,bring it!:))Thanks for the beautiful snack.

    You too are invited Asha, join me :))))

  5. It is so true…i dont know how people can avoid eating those [especially the spicy one which u get in mumbai:))]…They are missing the best thing in life i guess…Thanx for sharing the art of puri making!!!

    Even I feel the same that they are missing out on best thing in life, and probably they are thinking same about us. The recipe for pani is same like they give in Mumbai πŸ™‚

  6. Not everybody are having the same taste. but I love chat.
    Thanks for the nice panipuri Archana πŸ™‚

    Yes Jas, I realized it when I met these ladies.Even I luv chat πŸ™‚

  7. Hello Archana,

    You have been posting so many lovely mouth watering recipes..I am missing one famous chaat bhandar in delhi now……I love chat puri soooooooooooooooo much

    -Sushma

    Hi Sushma ,
    Bengali Sweets in South Ex Part 1? His Tikkis are not up the standard now as they used to be 8-10 yrs back .
    Even I looo…ve chat . My many many thanks who invented or thought of these dishes πŸ™‚

    Putting up the post was a ‘bahana’ to eat it πŸ™‚

  8. Wow, mmmmm mouthwatering….I thought chaats are the best food for dieters as its mostly boiled stuff with lots of masalas πŸ™‚

    And thanks for your tip for posting photos on my blog Archana. I just noticed it too that yours and mine are exactly the same ! I was trying to choose a template and colour closest to my old blog πŸ™‚

    I followed your tip, but my photos are too big even for the screen. I directly upload them from my camera into a folder on my computer and use them for my blog. I tried to crop the pic I posted on my recent post but that didnt help as the outer boundary still took a lot of space. Do you know how to get rid of that boundary ? thanks in advance πŸ™‚

    Thanks Abha,
    Chaats are healthy as long as they eaten the healthy way,. But the puris papdi , and tikki are the culprits :))))
    I never had any problem with the photos probably they were small .Did you try that ‘Edit’ written there next to the browse.
    If I come to know I will surely tell you πŸ™‚

  9. Great website. I like the way you react to my hopeful white Wanna joke?) Did you hear that NASA has launched several Holsteins into low earth orbit? It was the herd shot around the world.

  10. I love chat puri. I just had some this weekend that my sister-in-laws sister made. SOOOOO Good! Hers was a little different then your recipe. It was green chilis, onion, cilantro, tomatoes, potato, chick peas, spices, and boiled eggs. I live in Minnesota and in my town we do not have a store to buy the puffy round thing to eat it with so we crush up some pita chips on top of the chat puri. What I want to know is do I cook anything? Fry anything to make this or just put all the ingredients together? I know I must cook the potaotoes and the chick peas I buy in a can because that is easier. And what spices should I put and how much? Is there any garlic in the recipe? My husband is from Bangladesh and I am from the US, Cacasian, 30 year old who loves Deshi food! I can cook lots of things but this never turns out for me. I do not know how to explain this but, when I eat the chat puri there is kind of like a sauce in it. What is that made of. And when we eat the chat puri they put some tamarind sauce on top. How do I make that? I appreciate any help. πŸ™‚
    Yours Truly, White Chick that loves chat puri!!! πŸ™‚

  11. Hi,
    excitedly tried to open the site for puris and chutneys and pani but no luck can’t get to make this yummy chats without the ingridients,Please help me so that i can try my hand at it. Thanks

  12. I love to eat chat like pani puri and shev puri because of it’s sweet and spicy taste with crispy puri and when is gone in our mouth feels amazing!!! Hats off to whoever it may be who created chat like this!!!

  13. I love to eat chat especially panipuri and shev puri because of its sweet and spicy taste with crispy puri and when such a chat entres feels extremely amazing!!! I too thing that chat like pani puri is the weakness of the dieters:p!

Leave a Reply

