TOMATO SAAR

Updated–This is my entry for Jihva for Tomatoes hosted by Rp.It was very kind of her to let me participate even when the deadline was over.Thanks Rp.There is one more recipe which I had published earlier Tomato curry with pav.Recipe is here

Tomato Saar is like a spicy soup eaten with rice or included in a meal.It goes well with pulao . I make it when I don’t feel like making dal, and need a change from the daily menu.It is a dish from Maharashtra πŸ™‚

We love to drink it , as it is especially during winters .Try it . It is a nice change from the usual tomato soup.

Ideally the coconut milk is added but now a days with this cholestrol awareness I omit it .Beet root is for colour.

image235.jpg
INGREDIENTS:

500 gms red tomatoes

Coconut milk extracted from half coconut (optional)

salt to taste

sugar to taste

1/4 cup beet root pieces (optional)

To be ground to a paste

!/2 tsp jeera

2-3 green chillis

1” ginger piece

2 cloves garlic

For the tadka-

1/2 tsp jeera

a pinch of hing

1 tsp ghee

few curry leaves

METHOD:- Pressure cook the tomatoes along with the beet roots. Puree and strain the soup.

image241.jpg

Add the coconut milk plus the ground paste.

Add the salt plus sugar to taste . Make the tadka .Add the tadka and coriander leaves to the soup.

Boil the whole soup well. Serve hot with pulao or plain rice or drink it like a soup πŸ™‚

10 comments

  1. Mmmm…!!! Looks delicious.I would like to have some right about now!:))

    Thanks for sharing.

    Yes Asha it does taste lovely :)The ginger garlic green chilli makes it spicy πŸ™‚

  2. I am making the same for lunch today…… but never made it with coconut milk…… And I also put in tamarind pulp and a bit of jaggery.

    Thats nice Coffee :)Yes traditionally coconut milk is used,but I omit it .I liked your idea of adding tamarind pulp .Must be making it more tangy .The addition of coconut milk makes it milder .Nice tip πŸ™‚

  3. hey, tomato saar looks so tempting. I’ve had it a few times in thali, now that I’ve the recipe from you will try at home. It’s similar to rasam, but without the pepper right? It sure is a good alternative when one wants a change from dals.

    It tastes good too and easy to make :)No pepper is used.
    When I am not in a mood to cook full meal I make this with pulao πŸ™‚

  4. hey, the new look with that rose on top looks so good.

    I chose this template becoz of the rose. It is a lovely pink :
    Every one is beautifying their blogs I could not resist the temptation to change the look of mine.So after trying all the templates I got this . But no guarantee whether this is final πŸ™‚

  5. saaru with pulao? thats interesting…
    looks like someone is busy with changine template…will wait to see the fin al result:) gd luck archu:)

    Oh Sups I have tried all the templates WordPress had to offer. The whole day I had been busy doing this .I don’t know CSS etc web designing ,so decided to go in for this one. Rose colour is so pretty no:)

  6. Dear Archu,
    A nice recipe ..just like rasam I make and add some tamarind juice for the tangy taste…simple and comfort food.. adding coconut milk is new to me though…

    Liked the rose template on top..

    -Sushma

    Hi Sush,
    Thanks. This is my favourite when I want to make a short cut meal .Even Coffee was mentioning of adding tamarind pulp. I will surely try this tip next time. It will add to the tangy flavour.Traditionally the coconut milk is added. You can omit it.

  7. lovely color of the Tomato Saar,I think I would like this with some hot garlic bread to dunk it in!

    trupti

    Thanks.Try the other recipe tomato curry with Pav with garlic bread too.

  8. hi Archana, this is just what we would soon need as we are heading into that cold, cough and flu weather – yep, its winter time for us, the evenings n early mornings are already getting quite chilly.

    I like Trupti’s idea, garlic bread with this spicy tomato saar could be a perfect meal on its own for one of many such cold evenings.

    Certainly this is fit for winters.It will taste good with garlic bread .Try the other recipe tomato curry with pav/bread . You will like that too:)

  9. New template? Looks nice Archana. Tomato saar looks yum. Nice entry. No post in a long time. All fine?

    Thanks Hema πŸ™‚ I have just come back after a month long holiday.Everything is fine πŸ™‚

  10. Huh, can’t tell you how much of a help this is to a home-sick Indian bachelor living outside India. Brings back memories from home….spicy tomato saar with Rice…perfect comfort food on a snowy, cold cold December day !

Leave a Reply

