HOME MADE CHOCOLATE

I was really confused what to name this recipe. We just call it chocolate. This is my family’s favorite.

I generally don’t buy much of chocolate from the market . The only ones affordable are the Indian brands . Imported ones are costly.So making at home is the best option for me, keeps my family happy too.

image353.jpg

Most of you have access to the best chocolate available abroad .But try making this recipe I am sure you will like it . But ple..ee..ase don’t end up calling it chocolate burfi ple.ease . :))))))))))))

This recipe was given to me by my friend Gi. By the way I made the chocolate yesterday and today only 1/4 is left…..

In fact this time the chocolates are looking much better than ever before. Probably the chocolates also knew they had to look their best after all the whole world was going to view them on the net .. hee……. hee …eee πŸ™‚

INGREDIENTS:-

Sugar-300gms

1/2 cup water for syrup

150 gms Milk powder ( I used Everyday Dairy Whitener)

90 gms butter
40 gms cocoa

METHOD:-Sieve cocoa and milk powder in bowl .

[rockyou id=67184200&w=600&h=200]

Make a sugar syrup of 2 strings consistency. As the sugar starts boiling put a drop of syrup on a plate. If the drop spreads it is still not done.The moment it retains a shape of a drop (a soft ball) it is ready.


Remove the vessel from fire ,add the milk powder mixture and butter in the syrup and beat well with a spoon, The mixture should turn glossy. Pour this chocolate on greased plate. Let it cool, and cut to pieces.


37 comments

  1. first time i ventured to make chocolate i almost burnt the house down and the pan became histrory πŸ˜‰
    love the chocolate “burfi” archu πŸ™‚ he he he…

    Oh Sups there are less chances of burning the chocolate in this recipe . Try it. You did not see my slide show ?Burfi noo….oo!!!!

  2. Vow a homemade presentation for the chocolate, Wonderful going. U r picking up computers real fast.
    The chocolate looks really tempting. Do they need to be refrigerated.
    Before long they will be finished I guess. Good work , Archu!!!!!!!!!!!

    Thanks Vibha,
    The chocolates do not need to be refrigerated.Yes yes they will finish fast. Visit again πŸ™‚

  3. the texture of the chocolate has come out so well. and its so simple. we can even decide how much sugar we want right?
    nice recipe Archana!

    It is a simple recipe Sharmi. It does not involve much time. You can use slightly less sugar but not too less.Try it πŸ™‚

  4. hey archana, you are quite the pro in burfi err chocolate making πŸ™‚ how about Archie’s Choc’s !!!!
    i’m sure they taste hundred times better than the imported stuff πŸ˜‰ save some for me πŸ™‚
    have a great wknd!!!

    I knew I knew you would say that. No burfis, they aredesi brownies. I will make fresh ones for you come. Thanks, have a great weekend πŸ™‚

  5. You make your own Chocolate!!!!Never heard of it but you know,it makes sense to make your own than buying a sugary stuffed chocloate.Looks great Archana.I call Brownies though!:)

    First of all thanks Asha for calling it brownies πŸ™‚ How about desi brownies ?

  6. He coool one πŸ™‚ I make chocolate fudge at home…but never tried this one πŸ™‚ Thanks1

    Shn

    Thanks Shn πŸ™‚ Even I make chocolate fudge but always ended with disasters. Some how I manage to make this ok.

  7. Hi Archana, a cool recipe. Lovely slide show.
    I will surely try this if I get some time. Home made always taste better than anything πŸ™‚ Well done.

    Hi Jas,Thanks. Your slide show inspired me to make one . I must thank you for that.Try the recipe some time πŸ™‚

  8. Hi Archana, don’t worry, chocolate burfis as I know them are quite, quite different. Nice to be able to make your own chocolate – and it sounds simple too, without the bother of moulds and all that. Just saw your salad bar post too, here, all the restaurants I know are doing away with the salad bar, and I’m the kind who genuinely enjoys salad. Bummer!

    Thanks Sra to acknowledge my chocolates :)They taste gr8.
    Even I like salads, Luckily there is a restaurant which serves these salads but at a whopping price. It is a treat to see their containers brimming with colourful vegees/ pastas etc .Your dish with paneer and pasta is also nice πŸ™‚

  9. Meant to tell you I liked your blog header! Your earlier pink one was attractive too!

    Thanks for appreciating . It is the template which gives choices for colour.Pink one was a rose .
    Not my creation πŸ™‚

  10. Thanks for visiting my blog. Nice to know about you. Chocolates look perfect. I too prefer to make it at home, if at all i make. Will keep visiting. have a good day Archana.Viji

    Thanks for visiting my blog too Vijji:) You too have nice recipes in your blog πŸ™‚

  11. hi ur home made chocolate is reminding me of the delicious indian dairy milk chocolate….u r innovative….cool recipe..thanks for sharing

    Thanks Shanti for visiting my blog :). Taste and texture is different from dairy milk. But yet it is tasty πŸ™‚

  12. that’s it, I’m moving to Delhi…save some for me…saara maat khajana!

    Come over any time Trupti I will keep boxes full of chocolates for you . Are saara nahi khaoon gi daro mat πŸ™‚

  13. Mouth Watering ..Yummy …I have never made chocolates at home ..will surely try ur version ….this is the first time i am visitng ur site ..Looks cool ..

    Thanks for visiting my blog Deepa :)Yes chocolates are very tasty, quick to make too :)Do try making them πŸ™‚

  14. Hay first time to ur blog…..U have a lovely blog…All ur recipes are nice…great pictures

    Sukanya thanks for visiting my blog :)You too have nice recipes in your blog πŸ™‚

  15. Hey, making my own chocolate sounds gr8!!! this is an amazing recipe.. just loved it!! πŸ™‚

    Yes they taste good and easy to make too πŸ™‚ Thanks for visiting my blog Ramya πŸ™‚

  16. A really sweet and nice chocolate recipe Archana.It is fun making homemade chocolates… I liked ur slide show too.

    Thanks Prema :)The recipe is quick to make and also tasty .

  17. Lovely site. I especially loved the slideshow. Very professionally done. The recipes are great too. I’ve always looked for sites that have recipes that are “tried and tested” as you so aptly named yours. Great!

    Thanks Chic, for visiting my blog. I am so happy that you liked my recipes and also the slide show.I installed the slide show to give step by step demo of preparing the recipe . Do visit again πŸ™‚

  18. hi… i have few home made choc recipes but i have’nt try any of it… i am searching for more recipes πŸ˜€ when i came across your wordpress. I will try your recipe because its seems clear to me πŸ™‚

    Thanks and i’ll give you the feed back or i’ll publish in my blog when i managed to do it πŸ™‚

  19. Hi … found your recipe and tried it out today but somehow it turned out like fudge and treacle like, a bit like toffee and sticks to my fingers. How did your get yours to break like that?

  20. Hi. I would love to share with you one choclate reciepe. try this .
    o50 gms. cocoa powder
    100 gms. Butter/margarine/Palmolien
    200 gms. Milk Powder
    300 gms. Powdered sugar
    002 drops of soya lecithin
    few drops of choclate essence.

  21. Mix all the dry ingredients & seive them thrice
    in a large bowl. keep aside. Melt butter/margarine in double boiler add soya lecithein stir well till lesithene is dissolved.( if
    using palmolien heat the oil add soya lecithin)pour half the qantity of butter/marg/Oil. in dry ingredients & stir with stirrer clock wise. slowly pour the second half of oil stirring continuesly
    add choclate essence stir again.
    Put the material in round dish flatten it with hand or roller. cut in desire shape cover the dish with plastic sheet. & keep it in deep freezer for 10 minutes . Remove the dish & keep for another 1 hour in refrigeator.

    you can also add dry fruits to make nutty choclates.

  22. Hey, I made this… And it was a huge hit with both family and friends… I made two more batches over the weekend… and everything was gone in seconds…. Folks at home don’t even wait for it to be cooled down πŸ™‚ Thank you so much!

  23. Hi there… Would very much like to try this recipe. But would want to clear some doubts before trying.

    1. Is the butter salted/unsalted?
    2. Is the butter used directly from the fridge or cooled at room temperature (softened) or melted (hot)
    3. How many pieces does the recipe yield? the same size as u have cut.

    Thanks,
    Aakriti

    • Hi Aakriti,
      The butter should be unsalted and should be at room temperature only soft and not melted.
      Just remove the butter from the fridge before you star making the chocolate.Do not heat it to soften it. Even if it is a little hard it is bound to melt when it comes in contact with the hot mixture.
      This mixture should yield 20 odd pieces.Sorry cant give the exact figure.

  24. hey i tried this recipe. but why homemade chocolate melt so quickly.. 😦 what to do if i want to gift this chocolate to my friends..

Leave a Reply

