SWEET SOMETHING

This is the first time I am participating in Coffee’s MBP Event. Thanks Coffee for conducting such an interesting event. But there is one problem my weighing balance is not behaving . The needle says NO and turns to the right. All because of these sweets πŸ™‚ )

Sukhadi

I must say Trupti’s post on Sukhadi did have some magic on me. I saw her post at seven in the morning and within two minutes I was heading to the kitchen to make it.

This is a traditional Gujarati sweet made on special occasions, and also served as a Prasad at Mahudi in the temple of Lord Ghanatakarna Mahavir .

The ingredients are readily available and the recipe is quick to make yet tasty . Prasads are always tasty .

image545.jpg

Trupti thanks for sharing such a lovely recipe .

Pedas

The second recipe which appealed me is Prema Sunder’s Pedas. As everyone by now knows I am a little lazy when cooking is concerned. I am on the look for easy to cook and quick recipes.

So Prema’s recipe caught my eye. I decided to make it. As luck would have it I stumbled on to Ramyas blog too. She had made ladoos with condensed milk and Mango puree.

Since Premas’s recipe also had condensed milk as an ingredient , I decided to add Mango puree to Prema’s recipe . So in a way I combined two recipes to make one.

Pedas

Prema’s recipe was made in a microwave. Even I made the sweet in a microwave. It hardly took any time to make it. A very quick recipe indeed.

There are a few changes I made in the recipe. I added mango puree and also substituted the butter for ghee. I have not added any food colour.

INGREIENTS –

One tin Sweetened condensed milk

2 cups milk powder ( I used Every Day Dairy Whitener)

One cup mango puree ( fresh / canned)

1 tsp ghee (Prema used butter. )

2 green cardamom powdered.

Almonds for decoration.

[rockyou id=68577112&w=600&h=200]

METHOD-Combine everything in microwave safe bowl.

Mix well.

Microwave everything at HIGH for 4 minutes stirring after every two minutes.

Microwave for 3 minutes on HIGH, stirring after every 1 minute.

Microwave further at shorter intervals of 30- 50 seconds till the mixture thickens .

Let the mixture cool. Shape it into a ladoos or pedas. Keep it in the fridge.

I want to thank Prema and Ramya for sharing such lovely recipes which inspired me to make it.

17 comments

  1. hey archana, sukhadi looks great. mala pan sukhadi pharach avadtey, laukarch banavnar ahey :). isn’t there something about roasted wheat flour & jaggery, the combo feels just right πŸ™‚ peda pan mast distoy, two in one, that’s a good idea πŸ˜‰

    Roasted wheat flour in ghee and jaggery mast khamang lagte. Peda pan chaan lagto.Karun bagh πŸ™‚

  2. Hi Archana – what a simple and easy recipe ! I have got to try it !!

    Yes yes you must try it. It does not involve any prior preparation, quick to make πŸ™‚

  3. Dear Archu,

    I agree with you Coffee’s event gonna increase our weight :-)) …lovely recipes and love the mango pedas..delicious

    Thanks Sushma πŸ™‚

  4. hi ur recipe looks grt….the name of ur recipe is good:-)

    Thanks Shanti :)Both the recipes taste great. You can also try without mango puree like Prema has done . That too would be nice.

  5. Don’t worry……. next theme will be diet recipes πŸ˜‰

    Nice way of combining two recipes into one!!!

    Thanks for such lovely entries. πŸ™‚

    Haa…ha ..ha nice idea of diet recipes :)Thanks Coffee .

  6. Whoa girl! You’re on overdrive! The mango peda/laddu looks interesting. I just may try it!

    Sure you must try it . It is easy πŸ™‚

  7. oh wow…not just one but 2 sweets? girl, i do hope coffee keeps her word;)

    Even I am surprised how I made 2 sweets . Now only Coffee can save me πŸ™‚

  8. Hey, both your sweets look gr8!!! πŸ™‚

    Thanks Ramya πŸ™‚ It was your idea to add mango puree in ladoos which inspired me try it with pedas .

  9. Hey Archana… lovely looking pedas an sukhadis. really a good idea to add mango puree to the pedas. Glad that u guys liked it. Thanks.

    Thanks Prema for sharing such a wonderful recipe.Your Pedas inspired me to make them πŸ™‚

  10. Glad you liked the recipe, Arachana! looks great….have you been to Mahudi?
    trupti

    Oh loved it. Wish I had known this recipe before. I have never been to Mahudi, but came to know about the temple from your post πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

