MANGO SALSA

It is raining mangoes every where , markets , malls and now blogs !!The weather forecast predicts there is going to be heavy rains of ….. you guessed MANGOES! and a bumper rain at the end of this month in Deepa’s blog.

I wanted to make some thing different with Mangoes this time . Heard of Mango salsa ? I vaguely remember having heard it on the TV show. So I started digging my diaries for the recipe. But no luck 😦 This was not going to stop me from making Salsa.

Then I googled, there I had a wide choice of recipes with the name of Mango Salsa. So this recipe did exist, I was not dreaming . After thoroughly scanning them I decided on this recipe here.

image583.jpg

”It has garlic , and onions too oooohhh, omit omit or write optional” my hubby said. He could not imagine ripe mangoe’s sweet character being assasinated by the smelly onions and garlic too. Secretly even I felt the same πŸ™‚

But determined I was. I had no choice. The dead line was 20May 07. The count down timer was ticking on Deepa’s blog. I had to post some thing.

So I made the recipe, substituting the red pepper for green one and the scallion for red onion. Then I added mint too.

The recipes goes like this-

INGREDIENTS-

1 to 2 mangoes ripe mangoes updated (to yield at least 1 cup chopped mangoes)

1/4 cup finely chopped red onions

1/4 cup green pepper finely chopped

1 Tbsp jalapeno peppers ( I used green chilis)

1 Tbsp chopped cilantro (coriander leaves)

1 small clove garlic finely chopped

1 Tbsp freshly squeezed lime juice

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp extra virgin Β  oliveΒ  oil.

Few mint leaves finely chopped

METHOD-Lightly toss all the ingredients.Chill for at least 1 hour .Then serve with Tortilla chips. I served it with Khakra !

Don’t get scared to try it out . The salsa was too yummy. We polished it off in no time. In fact I plan to include it in an Indian meal too.

Enjoy.

This is my entry for Deepa’s AFAM Event

18 comments

  1. hey, there are so many types of salsa’s that can be dished up with chips isn’t it? urs is one more tempting variety for mango lovers.
    tuzhi khakra idea jabardast ahey :o) pavbhaji khakra khalla ahes ka?

    Chav chan hoti , tondat pani sutaya. Pav bhaji nahi Sandwich khakra and Chana chor flavour che khakra khalle. Mumbai chya Camay Wafer madhey miltat.

  2. thks a lot for the entry ..salsa looks yummy …..thks for sharing the recipe

    Thanks for conducting this event Deepa πŸ™‚ I am happy you liked the recipe .

  3. OoH! My mouth and cheeks are stinging!!:D
    Love the Mango salsa.

    Mine are stinging too with the thought of salsa.I will have to make it again πŸ™‚

  4. Mango Salsa…Yummy…Love the tangy delicious taste of mango salsa…looks lovely dear

    Thanks Sush πŸ™‚ I had never eaten anything like that .It was Yumm .

  5. now thats a different one from the usual. I thought of making mango chaat. nice recipe. can have it just like that.

    Hey mango chaat is also a good new idea..I polished off the maximum part of salsa.

  6. How did it taste?

    It tasted gr8.All the flavours combined together was delicious. It was sweet tangy, spicy, Yum. I am going to make it again πŸ™‚

  7. Hi Archana,
    Interesting salsa… sounds good too. good creative thinking Archana. that’s how we create new recipes right??..

    Hi Prema, Yes it is different from the normal and tastes gr8 πŸ™‚

  8. its raining…halalua……..mangoes in the air;)
    Virtual rain hee…ee
    |||||||||||
    ||||||||||
    ||||||||||
    ;;;;;;;;;;;;
    :::::::::::::
    :::::::::::::

  9. Archana, Mango salsa is new to me, I have one ripe mango so will try it!!!! Love mango πŸ™‚

    Oh it was new to me too, but tastes gr8. Do try it πŸ™‚

  10. wow…..great salsa…looks so lovely….thanks for sharing

    Thanks Dilipji, glad you you liked it .Also thanks for visiting my blog πŸ™‚

  11. I love this Salsa rolled up in some tortillas, cream cheese and avocoados…….its so fresh!
    trupti

    Wow Trupti you have given me a nice idea, will try it some time πŸ™‚

  12. This is a really nice recipe. I have been meaning to make Mango Salsa. Especially since I saw that caveman commercial.

    Thanks Indy :)Also thanks for visiting my blog. By the way what is the commercial about ?

  13. I have been surfing online greater than 3 hours as of late, yet I by no means found any interesting article like yours. It is lovely value enough for me. Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made just right content material as you did, the web shall be a lot more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

