Grilled Idli Sandwich

The name of the dish may sound stylish but it is made from all left overs. I had some left over idlis, wanted to convert them into upma, but then I remembered The Cookers Waffled Idlis !

image818.jpg

Her waffled idlis inspired me to grill these left over idlis in my sandwich maker, so that they got the same golden check look.

I slit both the idlis into two halves.

image813.jpg

First Idli- I put some left over potato sabzi and garlic chutney(I will be giving the recipe in the next post) on one side of the idli. Then covered it with the second half.

Second Idli– I put some grated cheese, some finely cut green chilis, crushed black pepper, finely cut coriander leaves.Covered this with the second half piece of idli.

Dribbled the grill plate with some oil. Placed the idlis on it. Dribbled some drops of oil on the top side of the idli, and closed the sandwich maker lightly. Grilled till they were golden and crisp.

Serve with tomato sauce or chutney.

This is my entry for WBB-12 a popular event started by Nandita and now hosted by Trupti.

23 comments

  1. yummy looks delicious. Grilled iddilis would be best served for kids who say ah ooo for eating iddlis….wonderfull idea,

    Thanx Roopa πŸ™‚
    Even I can’t believe that I tried it . In fact todays post is all fresh . We had these idlis for breakfast today and within one hour the recipe was posted.

  2. One thing that always amuses is the creativity of bloggers. ‘Indian Panini’ looks good πŸ˜‰

    Suganya you are so creative , mine was just an experiment and it clicked πŸ™‚

  3. What an innovation!!!! πŸ™‚ Now that seems to come from a clever person indeed πŸ™‚

    Thanx Coffee πŸ™‚ I have become more adventurous since I have started blogging.
    You all are so talented chefs, I am slowly learning from you all πŸ™‚

  4. What a great idea!
    ‘ditto’ for sra’s question.

    Thanx TC for inspiring me to make this.I don’t have a waffle iron , but would love to try out your waffles idlis.
    The outer covering was crisp but not as crunchy as waffles πŸ™‚

  5. ?????????????????
    now that is one clever idea πŸ™‚ i guess next time i will try grilled idlis instead of leftover idli upma πŸ™‚

    !!!!!!!!!!!All this is the result of blogging with brainy and talented blogger buddies (that includes you too) that such clever ideas come to my mind :)))))))

  6. Grilled Idlis!!!!That is so clever girl.Crunchy and smokey soft Idlis.Excellent:))

    Oh every one seems to have liked the idea . I just experimented and it was successful. Yes it was crisp outside and soft inside πŸ™‚

  7. are you going to post the dry maharashtrian garlic chutney? so looking forward to that.

    Yes Bee it is the same chutney I am going to post next πŸ™‚

  8. grilled idli, now that is an excellent idea! blog duniya madhye aajkal naveen prakarchya padarthanchi sankhya vadhat ahe πŸ™‚
    tya dusrya idliwar pivla kaay ahey, mala vatla corn ahey. tey grill marks phar chan disat ahet πŸ™‚

    Aag ashich tar recipe create hotat πŸ™‚ Dusrya idli war corn ahey . Me lihayla visarle. ata update karte πŸ™‚
    Tya grill marks sathich tar hi recipe banavili :))

  9. A real fusion food,Archu :)..nice to see the head pic changing with every post..the blurred look has a great effect there..last time it was that grilled veggies pic right???:)..My chiily on profile is the one I plucked fresh from my garden..I wanted to have one photographed on my own to match with the bloname -chilly..previously i was the free pic from slide.com with many chillies :)thanx for the appreciation πŸ™‚

    Thanx Bharathy πŸ™‚
    I give a water colour effect to the photo of the recipe and put it as the header.So with every post, header changes. Actually I don’t have a good camera so my pictures do not come clear, and header is big it will show all the flaws so I thought of this idea :)))
    You have a nice chilli plant at home. The colour of the chilli is stunning red. The single chilli is looking nice πŸ™‚ Even the chillis you used for sambhar podi are bright red and big.

    I just can’t think of any photo for my blog to suit its name 😦

  10. haha… Idly sandwich!!!?!?! Had never heard of such a thing before. Sounds very interesting. Thanks for giving me the idea!

    Even I had never heard it too haahaha :)))

  11. Heyyy quite a good idea to use up the left overs:-) Nice experiment πŸ™‚

    Thanx Viji, I get inspiration from you all only πŸ™‚

  12. wooa, that was a brainy idea indeed. Never thought of putting those idlis into griller! gr8 idea. First visit to ur blog and it was yummy

    Thanx for stopping by Lakshmi :)Glad you liked it .

Leave a Reply

