Aloo Anardana Kulcha and A MEME

When I first started blogging I had no knowledge of computers. Initially when I saw these events on the blogosphere I hesitated to participate as I did know how to send links of my recipes 😀

Slowly I picked up things, and now I enjoy participating in them. Punjabi food being a favorite looks like I may be cooking more of this cuisine this whole month.

Everything would be malai mar ke ( adding cream). All that going lite last month will definitely go for a six 😀

I prepared this Aloo Kulcha from Sanjeev Kapoor’s recipe. from here. The link may stay for some time but may go off once this recipe goes off from the complimentary section. So I will give the entire recipe.

It seems this was a fast selling item in a restaurant in New Zealand where he worked. People ate this like a starter.

This prompted me to try it out .The recipe goes like this. It may look lengthy but preparation time was less.

The ingredients are similar to aloo paratha except the outer covering is all purpose flour.

Aloo anardana Kulcha

FOR THE KULCHA

Sieve 2 cups maida, salt to taste, 1/4 tsp Soda Bicarbonate.

Gradually add 2 Tbsp yogurt and 2 Tbsp milk.

Add sufficient water to make a soft and smooth dough.

Cover with a wet cloth and let it rest for 10 minutes.

Add 2 Tbsp oil and knead the dough well.

Cover it again and keep it for an hour.

image862.jpg

FOR THE FILLING

Boil and peel 2 medium potatoes .Grate them.

Finely cut 1/2 medium onion.

Finely cut 2 green chillis.

Finely cut 1/4 medium bunch coriander leaves and 8-10 mint leaves.

Dry roast 1 tsp anardana and 1 Tbsp jeera/cummin and powder them coarsely.

Mix all the ingredients for stuffing along with 1/2 Tbsp red chilli powder.

HOW TO MAKE KULCHA

Divide the dough into 6-8 portions.

Flatten the portion of dough and and place a portion of the filling as you would do for stuffed parathas.

Roll lightly 4-5” diameter discs.

Brush lightly with oil and sprinkle kalonji seeds,and press with your palm

Preheat the oven at 220 degrees celcius .

Place these kulchas on greased baking tray and bake for 6-8 minutes.

Brush the Kulchas with butter and serve HOT.

This is my entry for RCI July PUNJAB. The event was first started by Lakshmi of Veggie Cuisine and now guest hosted by Richa of As Dear As Salt.

MEME-

I have been tagged by sweet friend Richa for a meme to disclose seven random facts about myself.

Its so difficult to say anything about ME ME but I will give it a try.

1.My entry into the food blog world was just by chance and not preplanned. I was searching for pav bhaji recipe on the net,and found Nupurs blog. Till then I did not know that something known as ‘Blog’ existed.

My interest in cooking (eating :)) led me to many more such food blogs!I used to note down recipes in diaries with the name of the blog. It is funny but I did not know how to book mark recipes 🙂 (Now I know everything, learnt it on my own)

My knowledge of computers was limited to surfing the net and sending emails. My comments were anonymous and off-course did not lead to any link, but the others names did. At heart even I wanted my name to lead to a link with every click, very childish of me, but its true !

So one fine day on an impulse I just clicked on Get a free WordPress blog and clicked and clicked till the end and I had made my own blog within 3 hours and wrote a first post. Sia and Coffee were the first ones to notice me and I want to thank both of them for encouraging me 🙂

I love to share recipes and also love to learn new things that’s why probably I have survived these 6 months in food blogosphere. My thanks to all blogger friends for your constant support.

2.The first point was so long what will happen to the rest of the meme!! Yup I love to talk. I just need some time to gear up to be able to build a rapport with anyone. Probably that’s why I have friends of all ages 🙂

3.I have this fascination for bags, which will never end. Also I love to buy things for my kitchen. It can be anything which will make my life easier in the kitchen.

4.I fear height, what do you call it bathophobia?Coffee :))) It took me 3 months to go close to the balcony railing of my third floor apartment.

5.I am an urban lady. I can’t stay in a quite place. I need some hustle bustle around. That’s why I like South Mumbai with the crowd oozing out on the roads at Churchgate ,VT. Wow I love all that.I don’t mind the heat, sweat and the crowd. Also I would love to stay in an apartment rather than a bungalow in a metro. I do not like too many exit points in a house , one is enough .

6.My child hood has been spent with lot of architectural design books around me. Never took up Architecture for which I repent even today. Designing anything is my passion and I love colours. If I am viewing a TV serial the lovely shade of the sheer curtain will draw my attention than the sobbing heroine 🙂

7.I have this weird interest in the latest gadgets latest mobiles , cameras any new technology. I might just walk into a mobile shop update myself on the features of the latest mobile and walk out. So crazy !

On this note I end my Meme here.

I now tag Bharathy, Srivalli, Deena, Neelam, Shanti, and Deepa. Please play along only if you have time and inclination.

29 comments

  1. Its called as Hieght-o-phobia 😉 Its so nice to know you Archana…. love your enthusiasm! 😀
    I also learned this whole thing whihc is called computers along the way… no formal training at all!!! And now I cannot do with it… its a part for me 🙂

    Heeehee heighto phobia :)Thanx Coffee,for your ever encouraging comments . You have been a great support to me 🙂

  2. Archana… I am coming to your house now… I want these kulchas and my mouth is watering already. Will think about inviting you over as I live on the 17th floor.

    Raaga come over any time you are invited 🙂
    No problem , you can invite me I will make sure I do not look out of the window, thats all :))

  3. Yummy Kulchas…I wanna have one.
    Your MeMe is very interesting Archana.

    You are invited Seec
    🙂
    Thanx for your kind comments 🙂

  4. I want some kulchas…now!!! Its nice knowing you thru your meme 🙂 I’m a city girl too, like the noise, people….

    Oh just like me. I love crowd and big cities 🙂 The kulchas are for you come over 🙂

  5. tuzhey kulche pahun tondala pani sutlay, changli recipe select keli ahes, delhi madhye kulche khaylach havey 🙂 baking muley te jasst hard nahi hot na? nakki try karin, pan mala ikadcha anardan avdat nahi.

    so nice to know more @ u thru ur meme 🙂 inspite of being new to computers, to pratyek recipe barobar header badaltes, ekdum pro zhali ahes 😉
    mala tuzhe micro chip yantra athavtoy! ani tuzhe tey color obsession aikun hasu aley 🙂 cheers!

    Thanks Richa 🙂 Baking kartana dough thod nehmi peksha soft thewaych. Mag kadak and chivat nahi hot.Tikadcha anardana ambat nasto ? All becoz of the encouragement and positive response I get from you all it drives me to try harder and do better. Me kharach ashich ahey. Ha jari 20 point cha meme asta tari me lihit gele aste :))) To chips cha stand , ani ajoon ek potato bake karaycha stand pun ghetla. Colours chi crazy ahey, mental note thevat aste colour combos che 🙂

  6. Archie girl,I saw Sailu’s blog and was thrilled! Arvind helped me to set up a blog exactly one year ago today:))
    Kulcha looks wonderful,haven’t tried that so far.Thanks.
    I love “Malai Maar ke” too and I have a post which says exactly that!;D

    Haahaha so we all got inspiration from our blogger friends:) Congratulations again for completing one yr of blogging and many more to come 🙂 Thanx Asha .

  7. Archana …awesome entry …..too good …I did try your kadai gravy too …It was awesome …Very Nice to know about you …Will post it soon ….Thks for tagging me …Will surely post the ME ME one …..Thks

    Thanx Deepa, :)You like it no, waiting to see your post.Take your time for the Meme no hurry :0

  8. Oh those kulchas look sooo good! Tell me, what is a kulcha exactly? Is it just a term for a stuffed naan? I’ve never really understood the difference between a naan and a kulcha.
    Your meme was fun to read. Glad you found the food blog world and decided to be a part of it!

    Kulcha is not stuffed Naan. Both are two different leavened breads. They both can be eaten plain or stuffed.The Kulchas which were sold way back 10 years back had a softer lightly spongier texture and could be easily folded. The ones we get now are similar to pizza bases .These Kuchas are then roasted on a tawa with ghee /oil. Kulchas are eaten with chanas, but never seen naans served with chanas.
    I found no concrete difference in their recipes or preparation. If I get to know the exact difference I will tell you.
    I want to thank you Nupur for introducing me to the food blog world 🙂

  9. Archana….you may not have realised that your Meme would be inspiring many…your patience,,,hardwork.,…enthusiasm is all appreciated……Keep up this spirit, thats the only thing I want to say!

    Shn

    Oh so sweet of you. Thanx Shn for your kind words 🙂 Yes now even I believe that nothing is impossible, only we can make it possible. Its all there in the mind 🙂

  10. Wow! your kulchas look great! I have never tried out these things at home…this recipe is being bookmarked. Thanks for sharing.
    Loved your Meme…even I had never dreamt thay I would be blogging about food and the first blog I ever stumbled upon was that of Nupur’s 🙂

    Thanx Tee :)Even I have tried making Kulchas for the first time, though I have made Naan many times.
    So we both got inspired by Nupur’s blog 🙂 I adore her blog.
    Also thanks Tee for stopping by 🙂

  11. Heroines always sobbed, and are creating floods nowadays. Not just in movies but in all the gazillion channels on TV, unfortunately. Curtains are a better alternative! May you have many more curtains, Archana!

    Haahaa I really need good curtains. There is nothing left in the serials to watch, same rona dhona 🙂
    By the way you are still awake . I am going to sleep now.

  12. archana, from your blog, you look like a pro. it’s great that you decided to share your recipes and thoughts online. it was enlightening to read your MeMe.

    Thanks Bee for your kind coments , I am so happy to get such a positive response from everyone 🙂

  13. Archu,
    Kulchas look yummy. Nice meme. So you love bags and kitchen gadgets. I guess most of us ladies are just like you there.
    Have a great weekend.

    Thanx Seema , you too have a great weekend 🙂 I think ladies are made this way, but men don’t understand 🙂

  14. u r so funny archie 😀 loved reading ur MeMe… he he he…i am crazy abt bags, shoes and kitchen gadgets too… now a days K literally drags me away from shopping malls 😉 and even i was scared of heights till i tries rappling from 100 mts rock hill… from then i am quite comfortable with heights.
    i love this aloo kulcha, unlike other kulchas they r soft n tasty… yum…

    At times I feel I am crazy Sups 🙂 You are brave, did rappling. The very thought makes me shiver 🙂
    Yes the kulchas were soft 🙂

  15. Cool..!! Roopa has tagged me 4 days back!…and I was about to tag you for the same after my meme !!:)..thanx for tagging me,dear…will do it in my next post…leaving to my mom’s place now…in another hour!…see you..:)

    Oh Bharathy sorry take your time no hurry and give a single meme only no 2 separate one 🙂

  16. hi archana pl tell me how to tag others ..altho i have mentioned that i’ve tagged 3 friends i dont think it worked the way i thot it wud..pl help!!

    Problem solved ?
    Wrote a comment on your blog 🙂

  17. Yeah until i saw mahanandis blog when was searching for a recipe I did not know something like ‘blog’ existed. loved reading ur meme and ur kulchas look great.. Have never made kulchas at home .. would love to try it out sometime. thanks.

    Thanx Prema 🙂 Glad you liked them .

  18. What great entry for Punjabi cuisine, something new…….Looks yummy and also tasty with anardana. I use sometimes anardana for green chutney.:)

    Thanx Kajal 🙂 Yes some times even I use anardana in chutneys to give sourness 🙂

  19. Hi Archana, Sanjeev Kapoor had a restaurant in NewZealand ? wow, I didnt know that !
    The Kulchas look sooooo inviting, will definitely try this recipe soon 🙂 I love punjabi food !
    Loved knowing about you through your meme 🙂

    No no Sanjeev Kapoor does not have a restaurant in New Zealand 🙂 He just worked there in one of them 🙂
    Thanx Abha for your kind comments 🙂

  20. You are truthful in your Meme Archana. Could feel it while reading. Nice to know about you a little more than food. Kulcha is my favorite food too. Nice recipe. Viji

    You are right Viji every thing in the meme is true and written straight from the heart 🙂
    Thanx Viji for your kind comments 🙂

  21. Archana, The kulchas look perfect. Loved the story of how you started blogging and I am glad you did:)

    Hi Hema, Yes yes I am happy I started blogging. Thanks 🙂

  22. Hi Archana, It was so nice to read your MeMe. And thanks for tagging me, this is my first time, you see! But will surely post it.
    I liked your Kulcha Recipe, looks very nice. I have eaten kulchas only in hotels, never tried at home.
    You like Sanjeev kapoor, haan:) Even I used to regularly watch his shows and note down his recipes. I like his style too:)
    I tried your Jeera Aloo recipe, last week and I must say it was a hit! I will be making it quite often now. Thanks for sharing.

    Hi Neelam ,Glad you liked the kulchas. They are very easy to make.Take it easy with your Meme . Post it at your convenience 🙂
    Yes I like Sanjeev Kapoor’s recipes. You liked jeera aloo , even we make it quite often. 🙂

  23. hi i w allo kulch i didntndrstn what is anardana and kalonji seeds it it necessary for the preparaion whee will i ge this

Leave a Reply

