Oats Halwa

This month the WBB event is being hosted by Madhuli of My Food Court. The event is the brainchild of Nandita of Saffron Trail.

This is my contribution for WBB July Oats.

image904.jpg

When I came to know this month’s theme was Oats, I was a little doubtful whether I would be able to participate . Apart from making porridge I had never tried any thing else with oats.

But then Asha’s post inspired me to try some thing. She had powdered the oats to make parathas. That was it.

I too powdered the oats to make halwa for kids. I know calorie conscious grown ups may hesitate to eat it .

So heres the recipe.

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup Quaker Quick Cooking Oatmeal

2 tsp to 1 Tbsp ghee

1/4 cup sugar

Approx. 1/2 cup mixture of water and milk ( the ratio of milk and water should be half milk and half water)

a pinch cardamom powder

Nuts and raisins ( optional)

METHOD

1.Powder the oats in the grinder.

2.Roast the powdered oats in ghee, till it changes colour and gives a nice aroma.

3.Add the water milk mixture and stir well.

4. Add the sugar and cardamom powder and mix well. Cover and cook for few minutes , till sugar dissolves.

5. Mix in the nuts and raisins and serve.

25 comments

  1. Iam always a foot away from oats, but this looks like a perfect recipe who run away from oats like me 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!

    Thanx Cinnamon 🙂 If you like sweet then you can try this 🙂

  2. halwa looks nice & creamy. aga 2tsp tup kai jast nahi, apan pan nakki khau shakto, mala mostly saglya type che shirey avadtat 🙂 idea chan ahey, naveen padartha karayla chan vatate nahi ka 🙂

    Thanx Richa 🙂 me adhi hi recipe post karayla ghabrat hote. Tasa khayla atta chya sheera sarkha lagat hota. Oh mast watat navin karoon baghayla 🙂

  3. Archana, thats something very different, indianised and yummy to boot… ekdam mast ahe recipe… nakki try kareen

    Ho kharach try kar. Agdi atta cha halwa lagto 🙂

  4. I love it Archana.What a great looking sweet.We can always cut down sugar to make it healthy too!:))
    Great entry.

    Asha thanx , you powdered the oats that inspired me to try this 🙂 Yes yes we can reduce the sugar and ghee too 🙂

  5. Hi Archana! Never tried any oats recipe. Now your halwa is tempting to prepare soon. I will try this. Thanks for sharing.

    Thanx for stopping by Jyothi 🙂 It tastes like atta halwa. Try it 🙂

  6. u made halwa using oats???? now thats tuely innovative. n love the way it looks. did u use mould to get that shape? i got to buy one when i am in india 😀

    Yes Sups I used a mould to get that shape.Glad you all liked it. I was a little apprehensive at first to post or not to post 🙂

  7. that looks so pretty. how did you get that shape? is it some mold? so lovely cant even say its oats.

    It is a plastic mould specially made for upma /halwa. Yes it tastes like atta halwa but slightly sticky.

  8. I love it! May try it for my breakfast next weekend

    Thanx Saju 🙂 Iam so glad you liked it. Also thanx for stopping by 🙂

  9. i can have this for breakfast everyday, with maple syrup instead of sugar. nice on

    Thanx Bee 🙂 Maple syrup is a nice idea .

  10. I like the idea of making oat flour, Archana! The halwa looks delicious…dessert for breakfast is such a treat.

    Thanx Nupur 🙂 I got the idea from Asha to powder them 🙂

  11. Archu, Wow I loved the shape of your halwa. Oats is so very healthy and halwa out of it is something that everyone will just fall in love with right? Thanx for the recipe buddy.

    Seema sorry I missed your comment. The shape is becoz of the mould . Yes the halwa tasted good , something like atta halwa 🙂

  12. i am glad that u posted the recipe:) big bag of oats are almost dead in my pantry 😉

    Sups now make halwa with them and send some over here 🙂

Leave a Reply

