Stuffed Tandoori Aloo

This is my last entry for RCI. Thanks Richa for selecting Punjab as the theme and also hosting this month’s RCI . It was real fun to make all the dishes.

This event was first started by Lakshmi of Veggie Cuisine.

I always have this Tandoori Aloo in my favorite veg restaurant.

image912.jpg

This dish is part of ‘Tandoori Platter’ , which consists of these Tandoori aloo, tandoori paneer, veg seekh kabab, dal makhani, naan, lots of onions , and green chutney. WoW!

This is my favorite order, whenever I visit the restaurant.

Is your mouth watering ? Next time I will post the picture of the platter.

I decided to recreate the Tandoori Aloo at home. The attempt was quite successful πŸ™‚

INGREDIENTS-

4 medium potatoes

For the filling .

3 Tbsp crumbled paneer

7-8 cashewnuts cut into small pieces

1 tsp raisins

1 green chilli chopped finely

a pinch turmeric

salt to taste

1/2 tsp chaat masala

a pinch garam masala

For the marinate-

1 tsp ginger garlic paste

3/4 tsp kasmiri chilli powder

1/2 tsp amchoor

1/4 tsp kala namak ( rock salt)

2 tsp oil

1/2 tsp tandoori masala

a pinch kasuri methi

Green Chutney-

Grind 1 green chilli, some coriander leaves, salt, and 1 clove garlic to a paste. Mix this paste in some curds to make chutney.

METHOD-

image911.jpg

Prick the potatoes and microwave HIGH for 5-6 minutes till cooked. Keep a glass of water on the turntable to prevent wrinkling of potatoes while cooking.

Cool and peel the potatoes. Cut small slices from both the ends of the potato, so that the potato gets a base to stand. Scoop the potatoes.

Mix the ingredients for the filling.No cooking.

Fill the potatoes with the paneer filling.

Mix all the ingredients for the marinate and apply the paste to the potatoes . Let it marinate for 30 minutes.

Grill the potatoes till they become golden brown. Serve with some chaat masala, green chutney and off-course onion roundels and lemon.

In my excitement to take pictures I forgot to serve them with onions πŸ™‚

Tip-

Select potatoes which are not sweet.

After grilling the potatoes you can serve them whole or slice them horizontally into two halves .

”Click here to comment”

38 comments

  1. My dear girl, what are ‘sweet’ potatoes? This is the first time I’m hearing of it. πŸ™‚

    The potatoes which are old and have more starch content are sweeter according to me. The shopkeeper will be able to guide you. I still can’t differentiate and have no clue how to select Sweetie. Many a times I have noticed the potatoes taste sweet and spoil the fun of the dish πŸ™‚

  2. I am drooling…first tandoori gobi, now this…its a sign, I have to make some tandoori today !! πŸ™‚

    Tee try it , it did not take much time.You will like it πŸ™‚

  3. waw that looks great!! I first thought of making this for RCI but then thought it might be a big process for a thali and I might not be able to finish my thali so dropped the idea. but your version make me to try it out sometime. nice entry.

    It did not require much time. Your thali was excellent. Thanx Sharmi πŸ™‚

  4. Looks great. What a great entry. Never heard about tandoori aloo. I will try this very soon. Thanks for sharing.

    Thanx Jyothi πŸ™‚ Glad you liked it πŸ™‚

  5. arrey wah tuzhya kadun ajoon ek recipe, jabree distay πŸ™‚ tyacha stuffing chan ahey, flat bottom pan madhye pan grill karu shakto, nahi ka? nakki try karin, kanda barobar πŸ™‚
    that platter sounds yum, vachun khaichi iccha zhali πŸ™‚ kahi thikani asey batata bharun dum alu pan kartat πŸ™‚
    thanks for this tasty entry.

    Aag mazhi awadti theme hoti tyamuley me swatah la control karu shakle nahi. Ho pan grill karoo shakte πŸ™‚ Tandoori Platter mast asto. Hyach potatoes na gravy madhye thewaych mag dum aloo hotil wow.

  6. Hey, where’s te pickle on the tandoori platter?? πŸ™‚ Fantastic dish, Archana!! A must try!

    In my excitement I forgot the pickle Jyothsna πŸ™‚ Thanx , do try .

  7. Woowwwwwwww……mouth watering…..Great dish you prepared for Punjabi cuisine. It’s really very tasty and perfect with this event.

    Thanx Kajal πŸ™‚ I am so happy you liked it πŸ™‚

  8. first time here.. got attracted by the tandoori alu. very apt dish!

    Thanx for stopping by Mallugirl :)thanx for your kind comments πŸ™‚

  9. hi archana,
    I have included your blog in my blog roll.Three more people write in my blog. you can read about them in about. I am writing on our culture and festivals along side.

    I like your blog.

    thanks and bye.

    lathanarasimhan.

    Thanx for including my blog in your blogroll. Will check your blog for the posts πŸ™‚

  10. Oh my goodness! this looks so tasty! stopped here for the first time…Loved your blog!

    Poonam thanx for stopping by πŸ™‚ I am so glad you liked it πŸ™‚

  11. WAH!!!! This is really nice! I liked the tip of putting a bowl of water in the microwave to prevent them from wrinkling!

    This is Tarla Dalal tip Coffee :)

  12. haven’t tasted stuffed tandoori aloo Archana.. I love tandoori chicken … Looks lovely and I think its a must try one for me. Thanks for sharing this wonderful dish.

    Thanx Prema πŸ™‚ Do try it , Iam sure you will like it πŸ™‚

  13. mmmmmm looks so yummmmmmm……..I have never tasted these b4 Archana but your recipe sounds so simple and the plate looks so tempting that I am going to try it soon – my kids love aalu in any form and I am sure they are going to love this too πŸ™‚

    Just one questiong, how much potato do you scoop out – do you go upto the bottom or just make a shallow whole in the cooked potato ?

    Thanx Abha πŸ™‚ If you like potatoes then I am sure you will like this dish.
    Scoop as far as you can go, preferably close to the bottom. If you don’t have a small scooper do it with the back of the spoon slowly πŸ™‚

  14. stuffed potatoes???? now i am all ears πŸ˜‰ i got to make this for BBQ…slurrrrrrrp…i can almost taste it just thinking abt it πŸ˜€

    Oh Sups the aroma was too good . It was like coming from a tandoor. This would be gr8 for BBq.:)

  15. You have a mini roundup for RCI-Punjabi here itself. All the dished look great. When you cook the potatoes in the microwave, you just place all the potatoes inside along with a glass of water? Do you think we can boil the whole potatoes on water instead?

    I just commented on your blog. Do not place the potato in the water bowl. Place the potatoes separately and place the bowl of water separately.Thanx Hema , yes I think I had a gr8 time posting so many recipes πŸ™‚

  16. wow what a great dish! this a truly a kids favorite there is aloo and paneer! nice entry dear!

    Kids would love this aloo and paneer. There is cashew and raisins too πŸ™‚RoopaThanx πŸ™‚

  17. Hi Archana, this looks beautiful and sounds so easy and delicious! I will have to give it a try πŸ™‚

    Linda
    Thanks Linda πŸ™‚ I am so glad you liked it πŸ™‚ Do try and let me know.

  18. Hi!

    Just found this recipe…looks yummy!

    I have a dumb question though….how do you roast the potatoes after adding the filling? Is it in the oven? For how long?

    Thanks!

  19. Hi Beena,
    Yes you can roast the aloo after stuffing them in an oven or electric tandoor.Temperature should be 180 degree C. Roast till you can see a colour change to a golden brown colour.Time taken will vary with each oven.So keep a check.
    Thanks for contacting me :)Keep visiting πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

