image Paneer Tikka , Paneer Tikki, Paneer Taka Tak

image996.jpg

Tikka  Tikki  Taka tak sounds great !!

I have made  these  recipes specially for Arti and Satya who read  my blog and requested for the recipe.

Arti wanted Paneer Tikka , Satya requested for recipes with crumbled paneer. So Tikki and Taka Tak is for you Satya 🙂

Paneer is everyones favorite and is on top of the list in parties and restaurant menus.

This is not my recipe. I noted it down from a cookery book from the library, whose author I don’t remember as I did not note the name down 🙂
 

image996.jpg

PANEER TIKKA

Paneer 250 gms

Wash the paneer and cut into cubes.

FOR THE FIRST MARINATE

Mix 1/4 tsp of black cummin seeds ( kala jeera), a pinch of white pepper , a pinch of turmeric powder , 1/4 tsp of garam masala , salt to taste and 1 tsp lemon juice.

Sprinkle on the paneer cubes and lightly apply to the cubes.

Keep for one hour in fridge .

FOR THE SECOND MARINATE

Mix 2 Tbsp cream , 2 Tbsp hung curd, 1 level tsp besan(gram flour) in a bowl. If you don’t have cream add 1 Tbsp oil

Add to this curd mixture, 1 tsp ginger garlic paste, a pinch of kasuri methi, 1/2 tsp red chilli powder, a pinch of saffron (optional) , 1/2 tandoori masala 1/2 tsp kala namak, Salt to taste. Mix well.

Add the paneer cubes to this marinate and keep it in the fridge for at least one hour .

Preheat the oven to 180 degC

Thread the paneer on a skewer and roast in a hot oven/tandoor/or charcoal grill .

Alternatively you can grease a baking tray place the cubes on it and grill them in a hot oven till light brown specks appear on the paneer. I followed this method.

Baste the hot paneer cubes with some butter.

Sprinkle some chaat masala and lemon juice and serve with green chutney and onion roundels.

YOU CAN USE THESE MARINATES TOO INSTEAD OF THE HUNG CURD MARINATE


1 tsp ginger garlic paste, 1 Tbsp oil, 1/2 tsp kala namak, 1/2 tsp red chilli powder, 1/2 tsp amchoor, a pinch of haldi, a pinch of kasoori methi, 1/4 tsp tandoori masala or garam masala.

OR

1 tbsp lemon juice, 1 cube Maggi veg masala cubes crushed, 1/4 tsp of pav bhaji masala , salt to taste (masala cubes have salt)

Mix well and apply the paste to the paneer and marinate for minimum one hour. Proceed according to method given above.

image998.jpg

PANEER TIKKI 

This recipes is adapted from Tarla Dalal ‘s recipe . I have tweaked the original recipe a bit, by adding potatoes and changing the quantities. I found that that after adding potato the tikki tasted better.

You can eat these tikkis with chutney or put it in a rich gravy to make a side dish.

image993.jpg

INGREDIENTS 

150 gms paneer crumbled

1 small potato

1 green chilli

1 tsp chopped coriander leaves

salt to taste

For Stuffing 

1 tsp  cashewnuts chopped

1 tsp raisins

oil for shallow frying

Covering –  1 tsp cornflour

Mash the paneer and potatoes well,  add  the green chilli and coriander leaves . Make lemon size balls. Flatten each ball  and place a little stuffing inside. Close the mouth and make a tikki shape.Roll the tikki in corn flour and shallow fry on a tawa with some oil.

Serve with green chutney or put the tikkis in any rich gravy   to make a side dish . 

image906.jpg

PANEER TAKA TAK 

This is a Tarla Dalal recipe from her cook book Tawa Cooking. 

The paneer is cooked on a tawa. The sound of the spatula on the tawa gives this recipe the name taka tak.

The ajwain used in  the recipe burns and flavours the dish.

image997.jpg

Ingredients

250 gms mashed  paneer

2 tomatoes finely chopped

2 pinches ajwain

1 onion finely  chopped

1/2 tsp chilli powder

1/4 tsp turmeric powder

1/32 tsp pav bhaji masala

4 Tbsp oil

salt to taste

Cooking the Paneer

Heat oil in a tawa on a high flame.Add the ajwain and cook for a few seconds.

Add onions and fry for 1/2 minute

Add the  tomatoes and fry for 1 minute

Add the chilli powder turmeric powder and pav bhaji masala and fry for 1 minute.

Cook for a few minutes.  Add the  paneer and salt and cook for a while . Garnish with coriander and serve hot.

51 comments

  1. Wow! lovely paneer recipes archu! I have some paneer and I’ll surely make your recipe on thursday after our festival.

    Archana, I’ll tell lakshmi to mail you details for chatting. love to chat with you dear!

    Thanx Latha 🙂 Oh don’t bother her I will try on my own 🙂

  2. i have come to the conclusion that you have all of tarla dalal’s books!!! you must be a huge fan – i can almost see a pattern in most of your recipes 😀

    Yes yes I have Tarla Dalal books. I am gr8 fan of hers. She gives all veg recipes 🙂

  3. Hi there,

    I must say that you ve been coking like crazy. i love the paneer tikka gravy and the mariade for the paneer sounds very interesting. Your recipes are always so interesting in flavor. Your pictures though, appear blurred, which is sad, because they look so deliscious. Like the tomato in the middle, I think it looks like a flower. I dont know, is it just my computer?

    Hi Zlamushka,
    Thanx 🙂
    Actually I am using my mobile phone camera which is very ordinary basic. It does not give good pictures. Your computer is fine 😀 ))
    The flower you see is a tomato rose. I will make a post to show it clearly 🙂

  4. hi,
    lovely recipes ..i love paneer and would make all of them at the first opportunity i get ..however can i make the paneer tikka in a microwave ..as my oven is out of order these days 😦

    Hi Nupur,
    Thanx 🙂 Yes you can prepare it in the micro. My friend uses the grill option in her microwave :)She places the paneer on the baking plate which comes with the microwave oven 🙂

  5. Paneer Galore!! Paneer Tikka looks yum.My girl likes Paneer and Tofu too!:)

    Thanx Asha 🙂 She will love these dishes. We are crazy for Paneer too 🙂

  6. Arch, tikka, tikki, taka tak – sounds like a merry drumbeat 🙂 Will read the recipe later, had to comment on the title!

    HI SRA,
    Sounds good no, tastes good too 🙂

  7. my my they really looks good and wonderful recipes. i must try them out, esp. the tikka..love em

    Hi RAJITHA
    Thanx , yes the tikki was really tasty.Thanx for stopping by 🙂

  8. kay ga, paneer series ekach post madhye sampavles ka?
    such mouth watering recipes 🙂
    saglya recipes chan ahet

    Hi RICHA
    Thanx 🙂 Aag adhi vegle post karnar hote mag words rhyme hotana pahile, mag vichar baddala. Tula paneer awadto. Karun bagh nakki :)Gele don weeks amhi paneer khat aahot 😀

  9. tikka, tikki and taka tak…all going straight to my bookmarks 🙂 all 3 recipes are mouth watering!

    Thanx Tee 🙂 Tula nakki awadtil 🙂

  10. Wow lovely recipes…a good collection of paneer recipes…I am gonna try them as soon as I get an oppurtunity and let you know. Bye the way Archana I made the lemon squash and my hubby just loved it! Thanks for the recipe.

  11. Wow lovely recipes…a good collection of paneer recipes…I am gonna try them and let you know. Bye the way Archana I made the lemon squash and my hubby just loved it! Thanks for the recipe.

    Hi NEELAM
    Thanx 🙂 I am so happy you all liked the lemon squash.Even my bottle is finishing now 🙂

  12. Paneer cha paoos. All bookmarked for the paneer premis at home.

    Hi THE COOKER
    Amhi paneer madhye bhijlo 😀 Aag don weeks pasun paneer khat ahot 🙂

  13. Today I decide to answer your comments here because wordpress is taking too long to open 🙂

    HI SRA,
    Sounds good no, tastes good too 🙂

    Hi POOJA V,
    Thanx and also thanx for stopping by 🙂

    Hi SHARMI,
    Thanx 🙂

    Hi TBC
    Thanx 🙂

    Hi LAAVANYA
    Thanx 🙂

    Hi MANASI 😀 )))
    Thanx 🙂

    Hi RAJITHA
    Thanx , yes the tikki was really tasty.Thanx for stopping by 🙂

    Hi RICHA
    Thanx 🙂 Aag adhi vegle post karnar hote mag words rhyme hotana pahile, mag vichar baddala. Tula paneer awadto. Karun bagh nakki :)Gele don weeks amhi paneer khat aahot 😀

    HI TEE
    Thanx, Tula awadtil nakki 🙂

    Hi NEELAM
    Thanx 🙂 I am so happy you all liked the lemon squash.Even my bottle is finishing now 🙂

    Hi THE COOKER
    Amhi paneer madhye bhijlo 😀 Aag don weeks pasun paneer khat ahot 🙂

  14. the taka tak is chaka chak..[insert your fav smileys here] – jai

    Thanx Bee n Jai for your mast mast comments. :D))) Yes yes I have inserted my favorite smileys :))

  15. Hi archana,
    I am expecting your entry too for the event! nothing in Yum blog is Complete with out you dear! Send in any milk sweet or Burfi . Waiting for your entry!

    Yes yes I will surely post entry for the festival event 🙂 I will think of a sweet and also post our maharshtrian style dish specially made for this.

  16. Hi archu! I have been getting incoming links from wordpress.com, but never bothered to look into it! After you said today I saw the wordpress news and our blog post is appearing! I must thankyou for letting us know about this!
    Waiting for your sweet and special maharashtrian recipe!

  17. I make paneer tikkas often but have never treid tikkis and takatak… looks lovely.
    loved your shahi rabdi too.

    Thanx Prema :)Glad you liked them. Tikki tastes nice.

  18. Taka Tak post………Very nice and creative idea for paneer my dear thanks for sharing….I like your stuffing of cashewnuts and raisins.:)

    :D) yes the tikki tasted gr8 with the stuffing. Thanx dear 🙂

  19. Archana, saglech paneer dishes ekdum takatak disat ahe…mi tarla dalal chi hi recipe adhi try keleli ahe…jordar ahe…mi azun paryant paneer tikki nahi banavli…kadhi tari try karin:)

    Thanx Priyanka,
    Tikki nakki try kar simple and tasty ahey 🙂

  20. hi archana

    I have tried your receipes and let me tell u they turn out awesome.

    My family enjoys them.

    Could u please write recipe for north indian veggie biryani

    Thanks

  21. ermmmm its so yummy!

    * i like to eat paner when i was in the UK but now i am back home so i really miss the variaty of paner especially cooked by my neigbour and relatoves ther 🙂

    ** i don’t know where to look for the paner here – if only i can get it, sure i’ll try you recipes 🙂

  22. when it comes to paneer, you can also try shahi paneer. shahi paneer can be prepared with different level of gravy thickness. If gravy
    is not too thick then it can be served with rice. Thick gravy dish can be served
    with poori or paranthas. Normal thickness gravy can be served with chapati (roti).
    The dish is evergreen and can be cooked in any season.

Leave a comment